Announcing the 2011 Frost Medalist, Charles Simic

The Poetry Society of America is honored to announce that Charles Simic is the 2011 recipient of the organization's highest award, the Frost Medal, presented annually for "lifetime achievement in poetry." Previous winners of this award include Wallace Stevens, Gwendolyn Brooks, Allen Ginsberg, Marianne Moore, and Lucille Clifton, who was the 2010 Centennial recipient.

Simic, a Pulitzer Prize winning poet, has published over 60 collections of poetry, translations, and essays. He has received grants and fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts, and his awards include the Edgar Allan Poe Award, the Griffin International Poetry Prize, and the PEN Translation Prize. "I could not be more delighted that one of our country's most accomplished, prolific, and engaging poets will receive our highest award in our 101st year," said PSA Board President Ruth Kaplan. Continue Reading Post

Categories: Awards


Older Posts