Co-Chairs: Susan MacTavish Best & Anthony Lacavaro
Presentation of the Award by Kevin Young

For questions or more information, please contact 212.254.9628 or email 

Time: 6:00 pm to 10:0 pm

  • 6:00 pm: Cocktails, Music, Silent Auction & A Private Viewing of the Garden's Exhibit Georgia O'Keefe: Visions of Hawai'i
  • 7:15 pm: Seated Dinner + Presentation of the Award
  • 9:00 pm: Champagne Toast 

Location: New York Botanical Garden, 2900 Southern Blvd, Bronx, New York. Directions available here.

In 2017, Tracy K. Smith was appointed the 22nd United States Poet Laureate. She is the author of the critically acclaimed memoir Ordinary Light (Knopf, 2015) and three books of poetry. Her collection Life on Mars won the 2012 Pulitzer Prize and was selected as a New York Times Notable Book. Duende won the 2006 James Laughlin Award from the Academy of American Poets and an Essence Literary Award. The Body's Question was the winner of the 2002 Cave Canem Poetry Prize. Smith was the recipient of a Rona Jaffe Writers Award in 2004 and a Whiting Award in 2005. In 2014 the Academy of American Poets awarded Smith with the Academy Fellowship, awarded to one poet each year to recognize distinguished poetic achievement. She is the Roger S. Berlind '52 Professor in the Humanities, and Director of the Creative Writing Program at Princeton University. Her next collection of poems, Wade in the Water, is forthcoming in 2018.